Mr I Noble, Head of RE
Miss L Parr
Ms T Askew
Ms K Forrester


Year 7 Homework

Year 8 Homework

Revision Videos

Key Stage 3

The aim of the KS3 RE curriculum is to enable students to study the different aspects of religion – the nature of God, Prayer, Worship and Sacred space – and then apply this knowledge to some of the major world religions and famous religious figures. Therefore in Year 7 there are three units of work; Believe it or not, Sikhism and the Life of Jesus. Year 8 also has three units of work; Islam, Buddhism and Big Stories.

Students do a baseline assessment in RE when they join the school, and then six further levelled assessments; three in Year 7 and three in Year 8. The programme of termly homework tasks in RE link to these assessments.

Key Stage 4

Students follow one of two accredited courses in RE which they start in Year 9 and which follows through into Year 10 and 11. These courses enable students to achieve a GCSE grade in the subject whilst also fulfilling the statutory nature of RE in the curriculum.

Some students will follow a GCSE Short Course entitled “Religion and Life”. This has four units of study and has half the content – but not half the difficulty – of a GCSE Full Course. The four units are Believing in God (religious upbringing, arguments for Gods existence, problem of evil and suffering), Matters of life and death (Life after death, Abortion, Euthanasia), Marriage and the family (Attitudes to marriage and family, sex and contraception, marriage, divorce and homosexuality) and Religion and Community Cohesion (equal rights for women, living in a multi-ethnic society, racial harmony). Students sit one exam at the end of Year 11; there is no coursework option.

Most students will follow a GCSE Full Course. This includes the short course detailed above plus a further course entitled “Religion and Society”. This extra unit also has four units of study: Rights and responsibilities (conscience, Situation Ethics, Human rights, democracy, genetic engineering); Environmental and medical issues (Stewardship, infertility treatment, transplant surgery, Pollution and global warming); Peace and conflict (United Nations, Just War theory, attitudes to war and bullying) and Crime and punishment (theories of punishment, capital punishment, problem of drugs and alcohol). Students sit two exams at the end of Year 11; there is no coursework option.

Students will also sit exams in Year 9, 10 and 11 to assess their progress and to give them experience of formal exams; these do not count towards their final grade.