Our Role

Millthorpe’s local governing body (LGB) consists of parents, staff and members of the local community, as well as the Headteacher. It is led by the Chair of Governors (elected annually from the membership of the governing body). The LGB is a committee of the board of the South Bank Multi Academy Trust.

The LGB takes sole responsibility for the well being of Millthorpe School. While we are not closely involved with its day-to-day running, we ensure that it is fully staffed, financially secure and that its students are succeeding. We act as a “critical friend” to the Headteacher, discussing the strategic direction of the school and, with the trust, its long-term plans.

The LGB meets ten times per year to discuss and approve matters about Millthorpe. Separate working groups are set up as necessary to deal with specific issues or projects.

Copies of policies and LGB minutes are available for inspection in school.

Parents are welcome as non-voting observers at our meetings; please contact the school office if you would like to attend.

The Chair of Governors can be contacted via the school (see Contact Us).

Governor Category Term of Office Stepped Down
Ms Gemma Greenhalgh Headteacher
Dave Merrett Co-opted 12/04/2020 – 11/04/2024
Anna Wynne Co-opted 25/11/ 2021 – 24/11/ 2025
Mr Trevor Charlton Co-opted 15/03/2020 – 14/03/2024
Ms Renee Rainville Co-opted (Chair) 10/10/2020 – 09/10/2024
Mr Simon Bull Staff 24/04/2018 – 23/04/2022
Janet Bennett Parent governor 26/02/2021 – 25/02/2025
Emma Hughes Co-opted governor 25/03/2021 – 24/03/2025
Amanda Stipetic Co-opted 07/05/2019 – 06/05/2023

All governors are appointed by South Bank Academy Trust.